Steering Committee

Professor John Rink (Chair), University of Cambridge

Professor Peter Austin, SOAS

Dame Lynne Brindley, British Library

Professor Theresa Buckland, de Montfort University

Mark Jacobs, freelance media consultant

Caroline Norbury, South West Screen

Professor Mark Meadow, University of California

Professor Phil Stenton, University College Falmouth

Professor Calvin Taylor, University of Leeds

Professor Helen Weinstein, University of York

Professor Evelyn Welch, Programme Director, QMUL

Ruth Hogarth, Programme Coordinator, QMUL

steering committee

(from bottom left clockwise: Ruth Hogarth, Susanne Hart, Evelyn Welch, Caroline Norbury, John Rink, Calvin Taylor, Phil Stenton, Helen Weinstein)

Meeting Dates

December 2011 - tbc

Tuesday 28 June 2011: Lock Keeper's Cottage, QMUL

Tuesday 9 December 2010: Martin Harris Room, QMUL

Wednesday 30 June 2010: Lock Keeper's Cottage, QMUL

Tuesday 1 December 2009: Medical Research Council

Tuesday 30 June 2009: Lock Keeper's Cottage, QMUL

Thursday 16 October 2008: Medical Research Council

Monday 30 June 2008: Lock Keeper's Cottage, QMUL


Arts & Humanities Research Council: Each year the AHRC provides approximately £100 million from the Government to support research and postgraduate study in the arts and humanities, from archaeology and English literature to design and dance. In any one year, the AHRC makes approximately 700 research awards and around 1,000 postgraduate awards. Awards are made after a rigorous peer review process, to ensure that only applications of the highest quality are funded. Arts and humanities researchers constitute nearly a quarter of all research-active staff in the higher education sector. The quality and range of research supported by this investment of public funds not only provides social and cultural benefits but also contributes to the economic success of the UK. See Arts & Humanities Research Council website.